Home > Forum > ELD 2020

ELD 2020

Apr 28, 2020 at 05:02 PM CST
+ 2

I see most of the post's on ELD's are 2018 or older. Thought there may be some fresh info.(new guy here) Can you buy the hardware used, like ebay and contact the company for the subscription to service it. Qualcomm specifically? Has any one ever gone this route?

Replied on Tue, Apr 28, 2020 at 08:50 PM CST
I don't know anything about buying a used one, but why on earth would you wanna pay a subscription to use one? Get a unit that doesn't require a subscription if you need one.
Replied on Wed, Apr 29, 2020 at 07:08 AM CST
Quote: "I don't know anything about buying a used one, but why on earth would you wanna pay a subscription to use one? Get a unit that doesn't require a subscription if you need one."

From what I've seen most of them have of some kinda monthly fee, I'm not a techie, I just figured it was for the service, such as GPS or what ever it takes to keep track of a truck. I'd rather not use an app on my phone, I'd like a unit by itself. Is garmin one without a montly fee? I kinda come from "you get what you pay for" are the no fee eld's working fine?

Replied on Wed, Apr 29, 2020 at 07:10 AM CST
+ 1

I don't run one at all. What I do on line 1 is my business.

Replied on Wed, Apr 29, 2020 at 02:57 PM CST
Quote: "From what I've seen most of them have of some kinda monthly fee, I'm not a techie, I just figured it was for the service, such as GPS or what ever it takes to keep track of a truck. I'd rather not use an app on my phone, I'd like a unit by itself. Is garmin one without a montly fee? I kinda come from "you get what you pay for" are the no fee eld's working fine?"