Home > Forum > What Do Drivers Want In A Trucking Job?

What do drivers want in a Trucking job?

Jul 23, 2018 at 08:27 AM CST
Drivers in know your on here what do you expect out of a driving position, list top 5 things.

Just currious
Replied on Mon, Jul 23, 2018 at 11:33 AM CST
+ 2
Top 5 things?1) Respect..2) Respect..3)Respect...4) money..5) a truck that is safe..doesnt break down and not an embarrassment to drive
Replied on Tue, Jul 24, 2018 at 08:55 AM CST
+ 1
Quote: "Top 5 things?1) Respect..2) Respect..3)Respect...4) money..5) a truck that is safe..doesnt break down and not an embarrassment to drive"

When I started driving truck in 1987 and I would come home from a long week of work, I would be asked what I did for a living. I was ALWAYS told I had a tough job and people respected what I did. Somewhere along the line in the 90's I went from a respected driver to a "God Damned Truck Driver". This was expressed to me at the same bar where I was told my job was tough. Mind you that I come from generations of truck drivers. I am not sure where the respect went but it sure left this industry! I can pinpoint the time to when the first fully automatic transmission came along. There was no longer any skill needed to drive a semi, just a heartbeat and a 2 week cours in driving.
Replied on Tue, Jul 24, 2018 at 11:54 AM CST
+ 2